Getting Started with Protein Supplements…

You’ve picked out your protein powder of choice…now what??

blenderbottleI recommend getting one of these handy-dandy Blender Bottles. They are my favorite. If you don’t trust me, trust such stars as; The Rock, Scarlett Johansson, 50 Cent, and Bryce Harper. They are available at most retail supermarkets and online. Side note, my puppy, Sophie is not required, but can’t handle photos without her in them.

The classic bottle will work, either the 28 oz or 20 oz. Inside the bottle will be a circular whisk. These things are great. They mix the protein and liquid really well.  Yes, I said liquid, I didn’t specify what kind…

The hard part is choosing what to add to the protein. On most of the protein packages it says water. Yeah, that’s a great idea if you don’t want to like it right away. So, water can get a hard pass at the beginning.

We’re located in Wisconsin, so a lot of us do the “right thing” and use milk.  I’ve been told even skim milk isn’t Wisconsin enough. But, I only drink skim milk and it is delicious with protein.

My go to liquid of choice makes Wisconsinites cringe. I love almond milk. I usually reach for Silk Pure Vanilla Almondmilk. I urge you to try it. It’s great on cereal too. Soy milk is also an option.

On the protein labels it usually says, “add protein to 8 ounces of liquid.” Most people don’t measure by ounces. So, remember 8 ounces = 1 cup and happy mixing!

Leave a Reply

